Keyboard layouts for Windows: New Italian.

Quick view of the New Italian keyboard layout.

This keyboard layout modifies the standard Italian keyboard (actually, both the “Italian (141)” and “Italian (142)” standards) that come with Windows and other operating systems; its main objectives are:

  1. To correct the original layout’s main design flaw: the clashing assignment of the accented vowels and the c with cedilla does not allow typing those letters in uppercase.

    [clashing assignments of both versions of the Italian keyboard]

  2. In addition to Italian, to allow correctly writing in Italy’s regional languages and dialects.

  3. To do the same for neighboring countries’ languages.

  4. To add commonly used typographical symbols that are not present in either of the two versions of the original keyboard layout.

  5. The new assignments should be intuitive and easy to remember.

  6. Although the Italian keyboard layout is based on ISO keyboards, this one should also be used without problems on ANSI keyboards.

The layout.

This is the New Italian layout:

Primary (base) layer:
[New Italian layout - base layer]

Secondary (Shift) layer:
[New Italian layout - Shift key pressed]

Tertiary (AltGr) layer:
[New Italian layout - AltGr key pressed]

Quaternary (AltGr‑Shift) layer:
[New Italian layout - both Shift and AltGr keys pressed]

General notes.

Version history.

The installer.

This layout can be installed on Windows operating systems (2000, XP, Server 2003, Vista, 7, 8 and 10) using the New Italian layout installer, although it must be noted that it has been tested only on computers running Windows 10.

Last update 19/11/2022.

Return to Keyboard layouts for Windows.